Minor Bantam RS - Tournament Champions, News (Whitchurch Stouffville Minor Hockey Association)

News Article
News Article Image
Dec 30, 2019 | charlene | 1312 views
Minor Bantam RS - Tournament Champions
The Minor Bantam RS were tournament champions of the Ray Hunt Memorial MD/RS Winter Classic in Orangeville this past weekend.

The boys started with a tough game on Friday against the West London Hawks. They fought hard but came out with a 4-2 loss. Knowing they had to win the next two games, the coaching staff tinkered with the lines after their loss as the boys regrouped and got ready. First up on Saturday was Brantford 99ers. Though it was a scrappy penalty filled game, the boys came out with a 3-1 win.

Next up on Saturday were the Markham Waxers. The boys were reminded not to take them lightly just because they had beaten this team earlier in the year. They won 3-1 but it was anything but easy. Our goalie Jacob Cottage had to stop two Markham breakaways to cement the win.
On to the final on Sunday to meet the West London Hawks who had gone undefeated in the tournament. Not to mention they had allowed only two goals against the entire time. The boys knew it was going to be tough. The team came out strong keeping the majority of the play in West London's end but no score to show for their efforts. At the same time, some unbelievably timely saves by our goalie Damian Tyson, kept it tied at 0-0 going into the second period. Bryson Benedict set the tone in the second with the first goal, followed by Kaiden Piedrahita. 2-0 going into the third, the boys knew they could not let up. Unfortunately, West London was too strong to keep of the scoreboard and soon tied it up with more than half the period to go. Some untimely penalties on our part made it difficult to gain momentum. After weathering the disadvantages, Seth Langer got the go ahead goal. With around 3:30 to play, the Hawks pulled their goalie in a last ditch effort to tie it up but to no avail. 3-2 final and tournament champs.

Great effort by Seb Cipriani, Jack St. Gelais, Brandyn Sunstrum, Harkin Porter, Thomas Bianco, Ryan Shiga, Seth Langer, Zack Baine, Colin McGuire, Andrew Janovski, Bryson Benedict, Alex Drikos, Kaiden Piedrahita, Christian DiBello, William Delios, Jacob Cottage, and Damien Tyson.    Thanks also to Dean Cottage (Trainer), Jean Yves St. Gelais (Assistant Coach), Rocky DiBello (Assistant Coach), Stephanie Sunstrum (Manager), and Eric Piedrahita (Coach).